What is the EIPonAHA?

The European Innovation Partnership

The European Commission initiated The European Innovation Partnership (EIP) with the purpose of strengthening Europe’s competitiveness and tackle societal challenges through research and innovation. The method chosen is the Innovation Partnership model where e.g. European regions, public and private organizations, etc. can work together on accomplishing groundbreaking results.

The European Commission has identified five focus areas in the EIP, where one area is Active and Healthy Ageing

EIP on Active and Healthy Ageing

Active and Healthy Ageing (AHA) is viewed as a major societal challenge and an area where Europe potentially can lead the world in providing innovative solutions to the challenge.

The overall goal of AHA is to increase the average healthy life span by two years by 2020, which will be achieved by focusing on these three pillars:

  • Prevention, Screening, and Early Diagnosis
  • Care and Cure
  • Active Ageing and Independent Living

Furthermore, six action groups have been created that are dedicated to working on a specific action:

  • Action Group A1: Prescription and adherence to treatment
  • Action Group A2: Personalised health management: Fall Prevention
  • Action Group A3: Prevention of functional decline and frailty
  • Action Group B3: Integrated Care for chronic diseases, including remote monitoring at regional level.
  • Action Group C2: Interoperable independent living solutions
  • Action Group D4: Age friendly buildings, cities and environments

The Region of Southern Denmark contributes to four actions groups (A2, A3, B3 & C2) covering all three pillars. Read more about the action group commitments here.